The End of January

30 Jan

I apologize for not posting last week. I chose to not use my bullet journal and learned very quickly old habits can take over. I am starting this week better, not perfect, but better.

We are having medical issues here in our house and without divulging too much info I will share a bit about the National Health Service (NHS). An appointment was made at the ‘surgery’ (doctors office) the result 1) we need to get ‘bloods’ (blood work) and a CT scan. I think we waited a week to get the scan, bloods were done the next day. We never heard anything about the bloods but the CT scan was positive for gallbladder trouble. Another appointment with the GP with a referral to a consultant. she would mark the request URGENT which we were told meant 3-6 week wait. we got lucky- 2 weeks. We have had the consultant appointment who wanted bloods again and if they were still abnormal then an MRI would be ordered. 3 days after bloods a call from the consultant office – no MRI needed!! another appointment needed to discuss surgery. we go back tomorrow. They will not discuss lab results over the phone. there is very little one can do to speed up the process. any appointment that is not with your GP is made through a general appointment desk. a request is submitted and you will get a letter in the post telling you when your appointment has been scheduled. they do not ask you prior when you are available. i almost always have to reschedule appointments made this way.

Prescription meds are filled only for 28 days and the repeat (refill) process is too complicated to write about. John has been unable to get the pain meds he was taking in the US. The drug of choice here is Codeine. It is not very effective for pain control for us. OTC meds are limited. I went looking for Phenergan and they couldn’t sell it to me as I was not intending to use it for what they sell it for. I have learned to do some online research before heading to the Chemist (drug store).

I have had 3 surgeries here, one major and 2 minor and survived! the nursing care I received the week I was hospitalised was poor by my standards but from what i have learned since pretty standard. I had a large incision and the dressing was only checked once a day by the surgeon! The strangest thing overall was there is not waiting room for surgery. They told John to go home and they would call him when they were done! Anyone who knows John can just imagine what he thought of that !

ok, enough medial stuff. We are lucky to be able to order from Walmart.com so we can keep a supply of Nyquil and other things we are used to.

oh yeah NHS is not ‘free’. it is funded almost entirely by general taxation. my major surgery did not cost me anything out of pocket except for the TV. each prescripton costs £8.40 unless you have an exception and then it is free. it is no wonder the NHS is struggling.

we have had wonderful doctors and surgeons. i have no complaints about them. i will truly miss my GP when we return to the states.

Everyone have a great week!

Leave a comment